Are Apps actually over-engineered? My Opinion...

Are Apps actually over-engineered? My Opinion...

ver.png

Which would you prefer, the first or the second frame? As a user what is your appeal towards an app, functionality or graphics? As a developer in a bid to satisfy user appeal or let me say flex our programming muscles do we tend to over-engineer an app?
At what point do we say this software is over-engineered?

Question but dem no get answer(In Burna Boy's Voice).

In software development, what is over-engineering?

I found this definition somewhere online and it says, "Over-engineering is more about how much safety you build into the application either by coding checks around the code or using excessive design for a simple task". Now pay attention to the second statement "using excessive design for a simple task", if I follow this statement then I could say the second frame in the image above indicates an over-engineering of some sort but does it?.

My Opinion...

think.jpg I think the term over-engineered is perspectival, depends on the angle one looks from. Many a time I have installed apps that I uninstalled almost immediately why?, for me most of the time it's always been about the struggle to navigate through the app, once am finding it hard to navigate through an app I get frustrated and I uninstall it.

From a technical standpoint, the developer of such an app probably saw that design that I find frustrating navigating through as an innovation. Oops! innovation can be tiring sometimes when what you find as innovation (as a programmer) frustrates a user.
I mean who builds an app to frustrate its user?
Yes, I know there are a lot more technicalities to an app or software being over-engineered than just the struggle to navigate through an app, but I also know no programmer builds an app to frustrate its users.

Keep Building!, bye